|Company type||Charitable company|
To provide an assembly of people who are interested in the history and growth of the Town of Canton and the community of Collinsville, and its environs, in order that, through their cooperative efforts, there may be a better understanding and appreciation of the history, heritage, culture, and environment of this area.
To receive, hold, maintain, discover, collect, acquire, display, and exhibit material objects relating to the above pursuits.
To secure, preserve, conserve, and interpret the Museum's historical collection, and historic buildings, monuments and markers in the furtherance and not in limitation of the above purposes to do any and all things not in contravention of the laws of the State of Connecticut.
The Canton Historical Museum is housed on 3 floors in a large former Collins Company Axe Factory building and has a very large collection of Collins Company axes, machetes and other edge tools. The Collins Company was in existence from 1826 - 1966 and the former factory buildings are rented by a variety of mixed-use tenants. The Museum also features many items from the Victorian and Civil War Era, including a Bridal Room, Barber Shop, General Store, and a large amount of agricultural tools. The Farmington Valley Railroad Society operates a railroad diorama. There is a research and genealogical library and a gift shop. The library also has a large collection of photographs, many taken in the early 1900's and photos of the 1955 Flood, which caused a lot of damage to Collinsville and the factory buildings. The Museum is open from 1-4 p.m. Wednesday - Sunday from April - November and from 1-4 p.m. from December to March on Saturdays and Sundays only. The Museum has Open Houses several times a year and puts on a series of lectures during the Winter months at the Community Center on Dyer Avenue. Go to: www.cantonmuseum.org for more information.